First steps – Level 1

Level 1 – What?

On Tuesday I accessed the level 1 quests and found I’d already done quite a few of them :). I discovered the resource kit on the site but that was, of necessity, consigned to the Wednesday. My major focus was continuing to find my way around the learnspace. I managed a brief glance at one of the staff egs from HK City U and, being a novice to the world of ePortfolios, was intrigued immediately by the structure; in this case profile, summary, showcase, qualifications. As I investigate further perhaps they will not all follow that structure. I also really like this graphic:

Wednesday saw some early morning reading of resource material; the NZ experience, the recruitment article (too dense for me at the moment), Dean Fisher’s (HK) ePortfolio in which I was especially interested in his comment about conceptual elements of ePortfolios. This lead me to find an article called ‘Conflicting Paradigms in Electronic Portfolio Approaches’  by Helen Barrett. It defined the difference between positivist vs constructivist portfolios. It was interesting but I’m not sure what to do with the information at this stage. I added her blog to my RSS. I also discovered The Association for Authentic, Experiential and Evidence-based Learning through the article ‘Review of Portfolios in Higher Education’.

The light-bulb moment of the week was that I decided to start own career journey blog – BIG decision – as my career ideas and resources are changing and developing at light speed at the moment and I often wish I could remember the sequences of things or where I saw pieces of information first. I do already reflect quite a lot, mostly while running as it gives me the mental space to do so, but it would be great to be able to look back over it all. The blog may form part of my ePortfolio in the future but will be of benefit regardless, providing I can find time to keep it up.

On Friday I became interested in fellow MOOCers (if that’s a word) and looked through a few of the profiles and found a couple of people in areas I’m interested in. I feel a bit of a leech as I’m sucking information from people (some of the blogs and forum posts make me realise that others are thinking more deeply than I am) and sites without contributing but hopefully in the future I’ll be able to redress the balance. I also discovered the Challenge Gallery and plan to try Wikispaces, LiveBinder and Prezi as my first new Web 2.0 tools.

I haven’t quite achieved all the quests – the mapping of my pathway seems challenging at the moment but perhaps it will come to me later. As I read this I realise quite a lot of my time has not been focused on the learning material but I needed to do the other things to get orientated. I hope to participate in the Webinar on Tuesday and am looking forward to hearing and reading other experiences.

At the end of Level 1 my understanding of ePortfolios is that they are in some ways like a combination of a super CV where potential employers can see in a very powerful way your achievements and your ideas for the future and a personal log of achievements that have been important to you and how you felt about them at the time and on reflection. If I apply Bloom’s taxonomy to my thoughts about ePortfolios (the influence of my concurrent TAE showing through!) I’m about level 2 so a long way to go yet.

PS. About an hour after I completed this post I read this quote from Ray Tolley, which sums up well what I haven’t completely grasped about ePortfolios:

‘An ePortfolio is just not a glorified CV or Showcasing tool – although these are very valuable aspects of an ePortfolio. Perhaps, in one phrase, I would sum up a true ePortfolio as ‘a place of conversation’ ‘

4 thoughts on “First steps – Level 1

  1. What a great idea; a career journey blog. I actually never thought of setting up separate blogs to chronicle different topics. I think this is something I will investigate within my e-portfolio as well. I’m new to blogging, social networking, and e-portfolios in general. I wish I had discovered all this years ago. I plan to go back and collect artefacts from my professional past now, but it would have definitely have been easier to collect these electronically.

    • Thanks for the comment Erin. I’ve only recently got into blogging myself but the career one, which I have now started, is my fourth so I’m going to struggle to keep up. I’m willing to give it a try though. It’s actually a really good time for me to start as I am in a career transition so I feel quite fortunate. Good luck collecting all your artifacts. Hope to cross paths with you again somewhere in the MOOC.

  2. Do you use Diigo or a similar tool to highlight and save the “want to be remembered” words of wisdom. I do and it is one of my most valued Web2.0 tools. As I add entries I tag so that I can easily find things again. The entries are dated so I know when I read it. My Diigo entries have become a digital fortprint of my online research. Delicious is similar but I prefer Diigo. In Diigo you can share links with others and also look at the trending areas of interest from the Diigo community. Its better than just bookmarking because it can be sorted and because your stuff is stored in the cloud it is accessible to you from any device.

    • Thanks for the comment Liz. I’ve just started investigating curation tools, which I really need, but haven’t yet looked at DIIgo. I will keep your recommendation in mind and let you know how I go. Hope to cross paths with you again somewhere in the MOOC.

Leave a Reply

